1st Brigade

The crew commander of a 1st Armoured Regiment M1A1 Abrams liaises with the 7RAR combined-arms battle group commander during the live-fire assault in the Shoalwater Bay training area as part of Exercise Predator's Strike.

The 1st Brigade (1 Bde) is one of Australia’s three multi-role combat brigades consisting of more than 3400 civilian and military personnel.

Based at Robertson Barracks, Palmerston, 20kms south of Darwin in the Northern Territory, 1st Brigade soldiers and families are at the forefront of the Australia's operational commitments around the world.

The 1st Brigade currently consists of the following units:
• HQ 1 Brigade;
• 1st Armoured Regiment (Main Battle Tank);
• 2nd Cavalry Regiment (Armoured Reconnaissance);
• 5th Battalion, Royal Australian Regiment (Mechanized infantry);
• 7th Battalion, Royal Australian Regiment (Mechanized infantry);
• 8th/12th Medium Regiment, Royal Regiment of Australian Artillery;
• 1st Combat Engineer Regiment (Combat Engineers);
• 1st Combat Signal Regiment;
• 1st Combat Service Support Battalion.

In 1992, the brigade began the process of moving to Darwin as part of a force structure review focused upon relocating defence assets in the north. By 2000, the brigade had completed its move and was headquartered in Robertson Barracks in Darwin. Before the move was complete, the brigade was warned out to support the 3rd Brigade's deployment to East Timor and in October 1999, 5th/7th Battalion, Royal Australian Regiment began deploying. They returned to Australia in April 2000.

As part of the Hardened and Networked Army initiative 5th/7th Battalion Royal Australian Regiment was de-linked in 2006 to form two mechanised battalions. 5th Battalion, Royal Australian Regiment remained in Darwin, while the 7th Battalion, Royal Australian Regiment, along with subunits from the 8th/12th Medium Regiment, 1st Combat Engineer Regiment and 1st Combat Service Support Battalion was moved to Adelaide, where they are now based at RAAF Base Edinburgh.

Although the brigade is split, the Adelaide–Darwin Railway can be used to transport heavy vehicles and equipment north. In its current configuration, the brigade is currently capable of operating three battlegroups, one formed around 1st Armoured Regiment as an armour-heavy formation and the other two around 5th Battalion, Royal Australian Regiment and 7th Battalion, Royal Australian Regiment operating as mechanised infantry formations.

In the past decade units of the brigade have undertaken deployments to East Timor, Iraq and Afghanistan.