Skip to main content Skip to search input

Wagga information and links

Wagga Wagga is a vibrant regional City nestled on the banks of the magnificent Murrumbidgee River. The original inhabitants, the Wiradjuri people, formed the largest Indigenous tribe in New South Wales. It is from their language the city is named. It is generally accepted that “Wagga” means crow and repeating it means the plural, hence “the place of many crows”.

Wagga Wagga is the ideal base for exploring one of Australia’s emerging holiday destinations – The Riverina. An easy day trip in any direction can take you through the extremes of Australia’s natural and cultivated environment. To the east rises Mount Kosciuszko in the Snowy Mountains, while to the west lies Griffith, the heart of New South Wales’ biggest wine producing region. An easy drive takes you to great Australian towns including Junee, Lockhart and Temora.

Wagga Wagga takes its place as the capital of the Riverina region providing an exciting and yet relaxed lifestyle for residents and visitors. With over 60,000 residents, Wagga offers the lifestyle and facilities to suit everyone.

Wagga information and links

Information and listing on sporting & recreation groups can be found by visiting the Office of Communities Sport and Recreation . A local list can also be found by going to the Wagga Wagga Australia Website.

Last updated
7 December 2016
Army: Courage. Initiative. Respect. Teamwork.
Back to top