Skip to main content Skip to search input

Notable graduates

Queen Elizabeth II and General Sir Phillip Bennett
RMC-D has produced many highly-esteemed graduates who have been, and continue to be, leaders in their respective fields throughout Australian society.

• Major General Peter Arnison, AC, CVO – Governor of Queensland
• General Sir Phillip Bennett, AC, KBE, DSO – Governor of Tasmania
• Rodney Cocks, CSM – author and Australian of the Year
• General Peter Cosgrove, AC, MC - Chief of the Defence Force and Australian of the Year
• Lieutenant General Sir Donald Dunstan, AC, KBE, CB – Governor of South Australia
• Brigadier Adrian d'Hagé, AM, MC – novelist
• Professor Alan Dupont – strategist, diplomat, policy analyst and scholar
• The Honourable Doctor Jim Forbes, CMG, MC – Minister for the Army
• Hon Martin Hamilton–Smith MP – Minister for Defence Industries
• Major General Sir James Harrison, KCMG, CB, CBE – first Australian–born Governor of South Australia
• General Sir Francis "Frank" Hassett, AC, KBE, CB, DSO, LVO – first Chief of the Defence Force
• David Horner, AM – author and strategist
• Major General Michael Jeffery, AC, CVO, MC - 24th Governor-General of Australia, first Australian career soldier to be appointed governor-general, Governor of Western Australia
• Lieutenant General Rhys Jones – Chief of the New Zealand Defence Force
• Major General Duncan Lewis, AO, DSC, CSC – Secretary of the Department of Defence
• The Honourable Campbell Newman – 38th Premier of Queensland
• Professor Robert O’Neill, AO – academic and first Rhodes Scholar in the Australian Army
• Lieutenant General Sir Horace Robertson, KBE, DSO – first RMC–D graduate to be knighted
• Lieutenant General Sir Sydney Rowell, KBE, CB – first Australian–born Chief of the General Staff
• Lieutenant General John Sanderson, AC – Governor of Western Australia
• Air Chief Marshal Sir Frederick Scherger, KBE, CB, DSO, AFC – first Air Chief Marshall in the Royal Australian Air Force
• Harvey Shore – film and television writer/producer
• Brigadier Sir Charles Spry, CBE, DSO – first Director–General of the Australian Security Intelligence Organisation
• Major General Alan Stretton, AO, CBE – player in the Victorian Football League and Australian of the Year
• His Royal Highness The Crown Prince Maha Vajiralongkorn of Thailand
• Lieutenant General Sir Eric Woodward, KCMG, KCVO, CB, CBE, DSO – first New South Wales–born Governor of New South Wales
• Benjamin Wyatt – Shadow Treasurer and Shadow Minister for Indigenous Affairs in the Western Australian Legislative Assembly

Last updated
24 January 2018
Army: Courage. Initiative. Respect. Teamwork.
Back to top