Skip to main content Skip to search input

Combat Brigades

Soldiers and tanks during an exercise
The Australian Army's three regular force combat brigades - the 1st Brigade, 3rd Brigade and 7th Brigade - were restructured into multi-role formations with a similar structure under Plan Beersheba. Prior to this, each of the combat brigades were structured as mechanised, light infantry and motorised infantry formations respectively.

Now each of the combat brigades comprises:

  • Brigade headquarters
  • An armoured cavalry regiment (each equipped with M1A1 tanks, and two squadrons od ASLAVs).
  • Two infantry battalions (with PMV or M113AS4)
  • One artillery regiment
  • One combat engineer regiment
  • One combat signal regiment
  • One combat service support battalion

Each of the three combat brigades rotate through a 36-month-long readiness cycle, comprising three 12-month phases. This cycle comprises a 'reset' phase during which the brigade's soldiers conduct individual training, a 'readying' phase in which the brigade's units prepare for combat operations, and a 'ready' phase in which the certified brigade is available to deploy on any required domestic or overseas operations.

The 2nd Battalion, The Royal Australian Regiment (2 RAR), is now under command of Headquarters 1st Division.

The three of Army's combat brigades are supported by the specialist brigades; the 6th, 16th and 17th Brigades.

Plan Beersheba will ensure that Army can continue to contribute forces to overseas operations as well as successfully transition to a force that maintains high levels of readiness to respond to the range of Australia's Defence needs in the future.

Last updated
15 June 2017
Army: Courage. Initiative. Respect. Teamwork.
Back to top