Skip to main content Skip to search input

Royal Australian Armoured Corps

Royal Australian Armoured Corps
The role of the Royal Australian Armoured Corps is to locate, identify, destroy or capture the enemy, by day or night, in combination with other arms, using fire and manoeuvre.
24 January 2017

The Royal Australian Armoured Corps (RAAC) is a combat arm with a range of capabilities that can be employed by the Army. RAAC units are able to participate in a range of operations including direct attack, reconnaissance and armoured mobility to infantry. Units of the RAAC are equipped with the Abrams M1A1 main battle tank (MBT) family of vehicles or the Australian Light Armoured Vehicle (ASLAV) and Bushmaster protected mobility vehicle (PMV). 

The main types of Armoured Corps units are: 

The tank regiment - The tank regiment operates the Abrams main battle tank. The Regiment's manning and equipment make it suitable for a variety of employments. The role of the tank, in coordination with other arms, is to close with and destroy the enemy using fire, manoeuvre and shock action. 

The cavalry regiments - The cavalry regiments operate the ASLAV and Bushmaster protected mobility vehicle. A cavalry unit's personnel and equipment enable it to conduct a variety of tasks. The role of cavalry is to locate, dislocate, and disrupt the enemy through the conduct of offensive, defensive and security actions. 

The light cavalry regiments – The light cavalry regiments/units are Army Reserve units that can operate either in a mounted or dismounted role. The units are equipped with either the light cavalry patrol vehicle (LCPV) and the interim infantry mobility vehicle (IIMV) or the Bushmaster (PMV). Light cavalry conducts stability and enabling activities and augments cavalry regiments. Light cavalry tactics comprise security, stability and enabling activities including the operations of protection, counter-insurgency, evacuation and strategic response options and RFSU operations.

Within the Royal Australian Armoured Corps the following is the accepted order of precedence of regiments:

  • 1st Armoured Regiment 
  • 2nd Cavalry Regiment 
  • 1st/15th Royal New South Wales Lancers 
  • 2nd/14th Light Horse Regiment (Queensland Mounted Infantry) 
  • 4th/19th Prince of Wales’s Light Horse Regiment 
  • 12th/16th Hunter River Lancers 
  • ‘B’ Squadron, 3rd/4th Cavalry Regiment 
  • ‘A’ Squadron, 3rd/9th Light Horse (South Australian Mounted Rifles) 
  • ‘A’ Squadron, 10th Light Horse

Although the RAAC has a common corps badge, each unit has its own badge, motto and individual traditions.


Corps badge.

Corps colour patch

Last updated
7 August 2017
Army: Courage. Initiative. Respect. Teamwork.
Back to top