Skip to main content Skip to search input

2nd Force Support Battalion

2nd Force Support Battalion
The 2nd Force Support Battalion (2 FSB) is an Australian Army logistics battalion and its headquarters is based at Derwent Barracks in Hobart, Tasmania however it has depots in Paterson Barracks, Launceston and Kokoda Barracks, Devonport.

The Battalion was formed on 1 August 1998 as a Reserve unit, following the amalgamation of a number of supply, medical, military police, maintenance and transport units.

2nd Force Support Battalion is part the 17th Combat Service Support Brigade and its role is to provide third line or 'general' support within an area of operations.

2nd Force Support Unit comprises the following sub-units: 
    •    6th Logistics Support Company 
    •    6th Supply Platoon 
    •    44th Transport Squadron 
    •    15th Transport Squadron (Army Reserve) 
    •    3rd Recovery Company (Army Reserve) 
    •    1st Petroleum Company (Army Reserve)

The motto of 2nd Force Support Battalion is ‘Diligence, Courage, Strength’.

Last updated
14 December 2016
Army: Courage. Initiative. Respect. Teamwork.
Back to top