Skip to main content Skip to search input

8th Brigade

The 8th Brigade (8 Bde) is a reserve brigade-level formation of the Australian Army. The brigade's mission is to command assigned units of the brigade to enable provision of specified individual and collective capabilities to support, sustain and reinforce Army's Operational Force.

The 8th (Infantry) Brigade has a long and distinguished lineage which dates back to World War One.

The 8th Brigade currently consists of the following units: 
    •    Headquarters 8th Brigade 
    •    12th/16th Hunter River Lancers 
    •    7th Field Regiment, Royal Australian Artillery 
    •    8th Combat Engineer Regiment 
    •    155th Signals Squadron (8th Command Support Regiment) 
    •    2nd/17th Battalion, Royal New South Wales Regiment. 
    •    41st Battalion, Royal New South Wales Regiment 
    •    8th Combat Service Support Battalion 

Headquarters 8 Bde traces its origins back to the 1st Australian Imperial Force when it was raised on 1st July 1912 as part of the 5th Division. During World War I it took part in a number of actions, including: 

    •    Battle of Fromelles, July 1916 
    •    Occupation of Bapaume, March 1917 
    •    Polygon Wood, September 1917 
    •    Villiers Bretonneux, April 1918 
    •    Hindenburg Line, September 1918 

Between the World Wars Headquarters 8th Infantry Brigade was located at Mosman, Sydney. Units under command included the 17th Infantry Battalion, then located at North Sydney. 

During World War II the Headquarters operated in defence of Australia. Between 1940 and 1942 the 8th Infantry Brigade was tasked to defend Sydney in the event of attack. In 1942 it transferred to Western Australia as part of 2nd Division, where it remained for two years. From 1944 to 1945 the 8th Infantry Brigade took part in the Liberation of New Guinea, advancing along the north coast of New Guinea, winning battle honours at Sio - Sepak River and Madang. 

Since World War II Headquarters 8th Brigade has been disbanded and re-raised a number of times. It was last raised as Headquarters 8th Task Force at Moore Park Barracks in 1981. In 1982 the Headquarters moved to Mosman, and was retitled Headquarters 8th Brigade.


Unit badge

Unit colour patch

Last updated
5 December 2016
Army: Courage. Initiative. Respect. Teamwork.
Back to top