Skip to main content Skip to search input

16th Field Battery, Royal Regiment of Australian Artillery

The 16th Field Battery, Royal Regiment of Australian Artillery (16 Fd Bty, RAA) is an Army Reserve Field Artillery Battery and is the only artillery unit in Tasmania.

As an artillery battery, 16 Bty has a role to provided indirect fire support to the infantry soldiers. 

It is the oldest continually serving battery within the Royal Australian Artillery (Estab 1859). Although small, 16 Bty is considered a major unit in the Tasmania Region. 

The headquarters is located at Paterson Barracks, Launceston, Tasmania with a depot also located at Derwent Barracks, Glenorchy, Tasmania. 

The Regiment currently operates the L119 Hamel 105mm Howitzer and employs the latest state of the art gunnery computers and targeting aids. 

Today, the Battery supports the 9th Brigade and participates in numerous training and community based activities.

Last updated
14 December 2016
Army: Courage. Initiative. Respect. Teamwork.
Back to top